pasterhook.blogg.se

Love stargirl excerpt
Love stargirl excerpt




love stargirl excerpt

They had driven out to help me gather all the belongs I had left in the area from when I lived there, and then we were all going to drive to Oregon together for Ben’s graduation. When I got to Colorado Dad and Ben met me at the airport with our van. I was too busy getting ready to leave on my trip, sleeping, boarding a plane, and flying to Colorado. Not that I had time to think about it much. The thing is timed, see, so you have to be careful about dawdling over fascinating excerpts.īy the time the test was over I had forgotten both the author’s name and the title of the book. I hurriedly tried to remember the name of the author, Wilkie Collins Wilkie Collins Wilkie Collins, and got on with the test. He said, in essence, “I’m going to write down how the diamond was stolen.” And then, having come to that conclusion, the excerpt ended. He was such a funny character, and had a strange obsession with the book Robinson Crusoe. It was narrated by a man named Gabriel Betteredge, who was Miss Verinder’s butler. The night of her 18’th birthday, the diamond was stolen from her.Ī little thrill went through me at the words “stolen diamond.” This is the story of a stolen diamond that was inherited by Rachael Verinder, a young English woman. I read the little blurb at the top, which went something like:

love stargirl excerpt

I opened the little booklet, and there was a full-page excerpt of a book called The Moonstone. The most interesting section of the SAT (and of course the part I did best at) was the reading comprehension bit. I signed up to go through the four-hour ordeal on a Saturday, the day before a big trip I had planned.

love stargirl excerpt

I was 19 years old and living in Virginia when I decided to take my SAT. It was a bit of a serendipity, the way I came to read and love this book. In no particular order, the 10 that popped into my head are: 1.






Love stargirl excerpt